Open for the first time in 28 years, step back in time at Wisbech Corn Exchange and relive where for decades locals enjoyed dancing, rollerskating, billiards and bingo. Tour includes special appearances by The Rolling Stones and Miss Wisbech 1963!
Wisbech Corn Exchange Conservation Trust proudly presents a Heritage Open Day revealing the long and diverse history of the principal centre for community activities in Wisbech, Capital of the Fens.
Built in 1811, following plans by Joseph Medworth, as an Exchange Hall and Gentlemen’s Club, the Corn Exchange became home to Wisbech Town Council in 1835, where it remains resident to the present day. In the latter years of the 19th century, the Corn Exchange became a regular place for public entertainment – from Shakespeare recitations to dancing, rollerskating, wrestling and bingo. Appearances by major figures in the 1960s include Lulu, The Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. The Corn Exchange closed in the mid-1990s after initial plans to change its use to a cinema were halted.
Local historian Kevin Rodgers will share his expert knowledge and display a unique collection of posters from the Corn Exchange’s popular music heyday in the 1960s. Tours will be led by Norman Jacobs Jr, Trust Chair.
The recently formed WCXCT is working towards a heritage and culture-led development plan in partnership with local and national community organisations leading to a major refurbishment of Wisbech Corn Exchange.
Find out more and participate in helping us bring about the transformation of this historical local building to provide contemporary multi-purpose facilities for public and private benefit.
PRE-BOOKING ESSENTIAL! 10 VISITORS MAXIMUM EACH TOUR
Saturday 15 September: Tour on the hour from 10:00 to 16:00
Sunday 16 September: Tour on the hour from 10:00 to 16:00
A few spaces for each tour will be available on the day but best to pre-book.
Go to: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/wisbech-corn-exchange-heritage-open-day-saturday-15th-sunday-16th-september-tickets-47213913085
Booking opens: 1 July 2018 00:00
Booking closes: 16 September 2018 00:00
Small steps into entrance. Wheelchair ramp available. Chair lift available to Council chambers.
Max 10 people per tour/session. 1 hour Max 20 people per tour/session lasting one hour. Each tour on Sunday morning includes an optional visit of the Town Council Chambers.
The Corn Exchange is located near the bridge opposite the Thomas Clarkson Memorial, on the North Brink prior to National Trust property Peckover House. Parking available by the riverside and in the Old Market.
Wisbech Corn Exchange Conservation Trust